OSCA's winners

Volunteers Recognised at OSCA's

Volunteers from cricket clubs across the county were recognised for their sterling work at Staffordshire Cricket's annual Outstanding Services to Cricket Awards (OSCAs) at Fordhouses CC yesterday.

Forty-Five awards were made to individuals, clubs and leagues from the length and breadth of Staffordshire across thirteen categories in the event supported by the University of Wolverhampton.

Staffordshire Cricket's Club and Community Development Manager, Jenny Moore who co-ordinated and presented the event commented "This is one of my favourite days in the working calendar. Our volunteers give so much of their time to support their clubs and our game - and most don't realise how special they are and how much they are appreciated. This is our way of recognising their fantastic contribution."

The awards were presented by representatives of Staffordshire Cricket Board, Alex Thomson from Warwickshire County Cricket Club and ECB staff whilst seventeen women’s softball cricket teams played out their season finale. 

David Smith, Chair of Staffordshire Cricket, said "Congratulations to everyone involved for a wonderful afternoon spent at Fordhouses CC. Both the OSCAs and the Women's softball festival were a real credit to cricket in Staffordshire with 45 awards being made to our volunteers and more than 170 women enjoying their cricket at our last festival of the summer."

The afternoon's final award is always for the 'Lifetime Achiever' and this year's trophy went to Old Hill Cricket Club's Sheila Price. Sheila, celebrating his 65th year with the club, has fulfilled everyone role in the club from Committee Member to chair and has overseen the recent re-furb of the clubhouse, having helped to raise the funds to do so whilst being involved in other areas of the club...

A number of the award winners will now go on to the National OSCA celebrations at Lord's in October with a chance of being recgonised nationally for their efforts. 

The Full List of winners is below



Heartbeat of the Club

Heather Moore, Streetly CC

Inspiring and Diverse Offer

Claire Higgins, Elford CC

Lifetime Achiever

Sheila Price, Old Hill CC

Pro Active Leadership in Cricket

Matthew Gibson, Caverswall CC

Young Volunteer (14 – 18)

Tom Price, Beacon CC

Young Volunteer (19 – 25)

Bradley Hulme, Endon CC

Coaching Contribution of the Year

Stefan Barker, Caverswall CC

Coach of the Year

David Lester, Yoxall CC

Young Coach of the Year

Thomas Porter, Penkridge CC

Cricket Groundsman of the Year

Richard Cooper, Checkley CC

All Stars Club of the Year

Whittington CC

Coaching Club of the Year

Tamworth CC

Contribution to Disability Cricket

Alfie Crane



Posted on Tuesday 1st October 2019, in Latest News