NatWest Under 19 T20 Blast Winners 2017

Rain stops play in the final but that is only half of the story..

An unusually wet end to the cricket season saw the County Final between Himley Rockets and Moddershall Thunder abandoned after the first innings but more about that later.
The NatWest U19 T20 Blast 2017 competition was split into two groups 9 clubs from the North of the County and 16 from the South did battle in the league stages played between May and the middle of August. Qualifiers from the North were Blythe Bears, Checkley Aces Porthill Patriots and Moddershall Thunder who qualified for a round-robin event which took place at J G Meakins on 3 nights in August under floodlights. The games were played in good spirit and playing under lights gave the players a true T20 blast atmosphere.
Moddershall Thunder and Porthill Patriots qualified for the final which was played on Friday 25th August in front of a large crowd at Meakins, the lights were on and Moddershall won the toss and asked Porthill to bat. Louis Allison 54 and Jack Redman got Porthill off to a great start before wickets started to fall, George Sellars, 3 for 27 but a powerful 34 from Scott Winnington helped Porthill post a competitive 144 for 7 from their 20 overs.
Moddershall’s reply began sedately due to some tight bowling but George Sellars 43 not out and Harry Bailey 22 steered them toward their target Before Dan Grounds 18 not out took them over the line with Moddershall scoring 149 for 4 0ff 17.2 overs. So Moddershall were crowned winners of the North Competition and would play in the County Final on September 3rd. Dave Yates President of the Bob Cherry Kidsgrove and District League presented Moddershall with the Trophy
In The South finals Day at Himley CC the semi-finalists were Himley Rockets, Tamworth Tigers, West Bromwich Blast and C+R Hawks. Himley took on Tamworth asking them to bat and steady scoring saw Tigers finish on a very competitive 168 for 9. Openers Connor Lawley, 22 and Ollie Lakin, 25 put on 41 for the first wicket before Robbie Aubrey 26 Ed Smith 39 set up the total, Sam Cookson 5 for 36 produced an excellent spell of bowling. In Reply an excellent 50 from Dom Taylor and 40 from Arun Bhogal set up Himley to reach the required target. West Brom Blast defeated C+R Hawks in the other semi-final, Blast scoring 187 for 7, Sami Khan 38 and Sachin Patel 41, Matt Gallear 3 for28 in reply Hawks came up just short on 170 for 9, Josh Skyte 50, Haseeb Shah 44, Kieron Patel 3 for 34.
In the final under the lights Blast scored 156 for 8 thanks mainly to some lusty blows by Rikesh Patel 51, with Sam Cookson taking another 3 wickets making 8 on the day. Himley paced their innings superbly reaching 157 0f 15.4 overs and were crowned the south winners.
So to the County Final which was played at Meakins on the 3rd September. A large crowd had gathered in dreadful conditions but in the Spirit of “Get The Game On” we tried. Moddershall Batted first and smashed 187 and then it rained and it rained so no further play was possible. We will now try again in April to decide the County Champions.
We would like to say a massive thank you to J G Meakins CC and Himley CC and their club members for providing the opportunity for the young players to play under lights and experience an authentic T20 Blast Experience and Atmosphere, The Bob Cherry Kidsgrove and District League for administering the North Competition, The Umpires who officiated in the finals days and also to our All Stars Children who acted as Guards of Honour on Finals Day. Finally, to the clubs, a massive thank you for taking part and entering into the true spirit of the competition.

We have several players on the National Leaderboards
Jack Redman, Porthill Patriots, 321 Runs NO 1 NATIONALLY.
Irfan Khan, Moddershall Thunder, 264 Runs NO 3 NATIONALLY.
Royeth Hussain, Aldridge Lions, 217 Runs NO 9 NATIONALLY.
Sam Cookson, Himley Rockets, 15 Wickets, JOINT TOP NATIONALLY.
Matt Gallear, C+R HAWKS, 13 Wickets, NO 6 NATIONALLY.
Dan Gibbs, Porthill Patriots, 13 Wickets, NO 6, NATIONALLY.
NO’s of 6’s HIT.
Louis Allison, Porthill Patriots, 14, NO 1 NATIONALLY.
Will Price, Porthill Patriots, 13 Joint Second NATIONALLY.
Tom Degg, Blythe Bears, 10, NO 6 NATIONALLY.
Irfan Khan, Moddershall Thunder, 8 NO 7 NATIONALLY
Will Morgan, C+R Hawks, 8, NO 2 NATIONALLY.
Harvey Ault Porthill Patriots, 6, NO 5 NATIONALLY.
Will Hinder, Porthill Park, 6, NO 5 NATIONALLY.
Josh Skyte, C+R Hawks, 6, NO 5 NATIONALLY.


Posted on Tuesday 10th October 2017, in Latest News