2017 SYC Honours

Over the years the Staffordshire Cricket Young Cricketers Pathway has been the starting point for progression onto the First Class and England opportunities.

2017 continued this trend with 3 players progressing their cricketing careers in the First Class environment.  James Taylor (u17) followed his brother Tom  by signing a professional contract with Derbyshire. James made his First Class debut by representing Derbyshire against the West Indies.  Alex Thomson who represented the Staffordshire Age groups and was part of the Staffordshire EPP before representing Cardiff MCCU at univesrity.  He also represented the Staffordshire Senior team and his progress and performances were recognised by Warwickshire, who offered him a professional contract and he made his 1st team debut in September.  Liam Banks continued his progression with Warwickshire and was called up for and represented the England u19s this summer with two half centuries to his name.  Further to these successes Jack Redman, Adam Peat and Ethan Laverty were all invited to join the Derbyshire Academy under the guidance of Mal Loye. 

Staffordshire Cricket wishes all of the players well for the 2018 season and hope their performances will continue their success. 

There are many Staffordshire players who have gone on to make the grade at First Class level, below is a list of players who in the last 10 years have progressed from the ranks of Staffordshire Young Cricketers to the First Class arena.

Contracted Players

Achieved Academy Status

David Wheldon


Micheal Hill

Scott Elstone


Dan Cummings

Jack Manuel


Ben McQuire

Joe Leach


Ed Jones

Alex Hughes


Greg Massingham

Anish Kapil


Tom Ball

Sam Kelsall


George Sellers

Tom Fell


Hamiaz Mahmood

Ben Cotton


Anis Raza

Tom Taylor


Tom Hope

Rob Hemmings


Jack Redman

Will Davis


Adam Peat

Alex Mellor


Ethan Laverty

Mitchell Spencer


James Taylor


Alex Thomson


Liam Banks

Warwickshire  & England u19s

Zen Malik


George Scrimshaw


Staffordshire Age Group Players Progression to England Women Development Programmes

England Women

Danni Wyatt

Georgia Elwiss

England Women Academy

Evie Jones

Steph Butler

England Women - Regional Development Centres

Megan Jones

Olivia Bentley

Grace Potts

Millie Wilson

Ilenia Sims

Lydia Perry

Poppy Davies

Helen Hughes

Emily Stones

Georgia Norman



Posted on Friday 5th January 2018, in Latest News